Search This Blog

About me

Hi I'm Janna and I am a book whore! I started this blog after being a part of another for years. While being a big blog may be nice I like to stay true to me having a love for books, that's why I blog. I love books and I want to share that love with my readers of this blog. I love to read, books are my escape and a huge part of my life besides my husband and two children. I am honest and sometimes sassy in my reviews but never mean. Some of my favorite authors include Kristen Ashley, Penelope Douglas, T.M. Frazier, M.N. Forgy, Rachel Van Dyken, Meghan March and Vi Keeland to only name a few!

Please note that I am the ONLY reviewer on the blog beyond a few guest reviews. It has been brought to my attention that people not associated with my blog have been requesting ARCs please if you ever question a request please email me at the blog's email.


Sunday, July 24, 2016

ARC Review! Almost Forever by Kathy Clark



A cold case leads to blazing-hot temptation in this novel of romantic suspense from bestselling author Kathy Clark. For readers of Nora Roberts and Karen Robards, Almost Forever pairs a rugged lawman with a woman who may just be a murderer.

Justin Archer is a Texas Ranger through and through, a loyal man devoted to the dangerous job he loves. But when the grisly discovery of a skeleton in a local vineyard turns an old missing-persons case into a vicious homicide, Justin finds that the toughest challenge of his professional career will be keeping his hands off his chief suspect: the dead man’s beautiful, young trophy wife. Did Lori Roberts kill for vast material gain? The only thing Justin knows for sure is that their chemistry is instantaneous—and overpowering.

Lori worked hard to build a new life for herself and her daughter. She turned her husband’s struggling vineyard into a thriving enterprise, and now she stands to lose it all over something that happened eight years ago. Justin could lock her up and throw away the key, but Lori desperately wants to trust him. More than that, she wants to let him into her wounded heart. Because Lori’s been running from the past for a long time . . . and she’s ready to start living for the future.

Praise for the novels of Kathy Clark

“Fast-paced, riveting . . . Playful dialogue between Nick and Jamie certainly kept me entertained, and I loved every moment they were together as their banter increased the sexual tension between them. . . . [The author] did justice to their instant and intense chemistry.”—Harlequin Junkie, on After Love

“A deeply touching story of a woman’s profound healing, and the amazing man who’s with her every step of the way.”—USA Today bestselling author Tina Wainscott, on Deep Night

“Throughout the whole story, I got the feeling of realness and empathy for the characters. If you are looking for a well-written romance story, then you have found it!”—Night Owl Reviews, on Cries in the Night

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

I did not ever really engage with the story in this one. Justin and Lori both felt one dimensional to me, and I was not really ever able to believe in their attraction, especially that it was strong enough for him to risk his job to get involved with her while she was a murder suspect. Although, that element was also a little lost on me, as I never believed she was actually guilty. In the process of making sure the reader would be ok with Justin risking his career and getting involved with Lori, Kathy Clark made it incredibly obvious from the beginning that there was no way Lori was guilty of her husband’s murder…there was not a single bit of evidence that ever pointed to her, nothing that would make you think for a second she was guilty. 

 
I also had issues with the pacing of the story, as it seemed to rush to a resolution and then it drug during the resolution, and then was at warp speed for the end. 

I did not appreciate the obvious political bent of the story, either. I don’t want to know the politics of the author…after reading this, I have no doubt as to what side the author takes on the immigration issue as well as the political party of the author. It was completely unbalance and one-sided…and it made an entire portion of the book feel like a political speech, which I did not appreciate. 

All in all, there is more in this that was a miss for me and I do not really recommend it.


No comments:

Post a Comment